The Charles Hamilton Houston Prize

The Charles Hamilton Houston Prize is an annual monetary gift awarded to a senior who best personifies a commitment to realizing humane ideals, much like Charles Houston 1915, who devoted his life to the struggle for equal protection under the law for African-Americans.  Candidates are required to write an essay of no more than 10 pages addressing:  "In what area of social involvement do you feel that you can best effect humanitarian ideals?"  Candidates are required to submit a list of activities and/or work experiences illustrating commitments to this ideal.  Essays should be submitted electronically to no later than 3:00 p.m. on Friday, April 14, 2023.

Prize Winners

Year Name Year Name
1994 Anne-Marie Yu 1995 Damani Partridge
1996 No award 1997 Andrew Yoon
1998 Noah Lippe-Klein 1999 No award
2000 Elizabeth Irwin 2001 Illana Foss
2002 Eric Thalasinos & Emilie Boone 2003 Nicholas Wexler
2004 Luke Swarthout 2005 Paige Wallace
2006 Eboni Jones 2007 Sarah Avery Long
2008 Oscar Baez & Laura Stein 2009 Michelle Sanders & Destry Sibley
2010 Makaula Ayanda Bam 2011 Amanda Bass & Michael Reuben Britt
2012 Agostine Ndung'u 2013 No award
2014 Adrianna Turner & Carlos Gonzalez 2015 Uju Momah
2016 Jessi Wilcox & Stella Oyalabu 2017 Jessica Maposa
2018 Jalencia Wade 2019 Alizeh Shuaib Sethi & Huey Hewitt
2020 Olusade Gabriella Green  2021 Jeremy Thomas & Claire Hawthorne
2022 Joelle Crichlow    

The Edward Jones Prize

Each year the Black Studies Department awards the Edward Jones Prize in honor of the first black alumnus of Amherst College. Competition for the prize is open to any graduating senior who has written an honors thesis that addresses a present or future issue of concern to black people in Africa and the Diaspora.

Submissions for the Jones Prize will be accepted by the Black Studies Department from all other Amherst College academic departments. In order to be considered, please email a copy of your thesis to no later than 3:00 p.m. on Friday, April 14, 2023. The prize recipient is determined by members of the Black Studies Department and is awarded at Senior Assembly.

Prize Winners

Year Name Year Name
1994 Shawn Sullivan & William C. Turner 1995 Erika Butler
1996 Charlton Copeland & Michael Mullins  1997 Sarah Hultman
1998 Adam Brett Wolf 1999 Jewel Sophia Young
2000 Nanna Abenaa Frimpong & Nicholas Rabinowitz 2001 Nadia Latif
2002 Eli Bloomberg & Peter Juran 2003 Joshua Levy
2004 No award 2005 Max Retting
2006 No award 2007  Katina Hubbard & Jacob Maguire
 2008 Jacob Goldberg 2009 Jenny Mancino & Nicholas Pastan
2010 Joan Victoria Flores 2011 Jamie Cohen, Rachel Hamalainen & Michelle Huynh
2012 Porshe Janae Dames 2013 Aubrey Jones
2014 Ruodi Duan & Dylan Vasey 2015 Katherine Ponds
2016 Rachel Abernethy & Stella Oyalabu 2017 Raheem Jackson & Christin Washington
2018 Jalencia Wade & Stefan Yong 2019 Huey Hewitt & Bryan Miller
2020 Avery Farmer & Henry P. McNeil  2021  Djelimory Diabate
2022 Aniah Washington & Joelle Crichlow